Did WhatsApp secretly change its group invite settings to “Everyone”?

You may have seen the warning that was doing the rounds on social media recently about the fact that WhatsApp has changed its group settings to include everyone.

The truth is that WhatsApp HAS changed its group settings to include ‘everyone’ by default so people you don’t know can add you to a group without your knowing.

The misleading information is that this is not new and has been a default setting that was introduced back in 2019.  Prior to 2019, anyone could invite anyone else to a WhatsApp messaging group, providing they had their phone number. However due to customer feedback, a new set of privacy settings were introduced in April 2019 that could allow users to have more control over who can invite them into groups. The settings were publicised in the WhatsApp blog.

Keeping your private information safe is vital in this day and age so that you don’t fall prey to scammers and hackers, so if you haven’t already – it’s a good idea to change the settings from ‘Everyone’ to ‘My Contacts’.

How to change the group privacy settings on WhatsApp

Go to WhatsApp

Go into Settings

Go to Account

Go to Privacy

Go to Groups

Change from (Everyone) to (My Contacts)

BC TRAINING SOLUTIONS – HERE TO HELP!